Merge Duplicate Companies and Contacts
Merge company or contact records to remove duplicates and maintain better data quality.
The merging process is the same for companies or contacts and is permanent once done. You can't undo it, so be sure you correctly selected the two objects to be merged. The merging process only involves two objects at the same time.
To perform this action, you need to be a Manager user with a Business Admin role.
Let's take Object A and Object B as an example for the explanation, an object being a company or a contact. Object A is always being merged into Object B. This means that Object B's information will overwrite Object A's when the merge happens, following these rules.
At the top right of all company and contact records, a Merge button indicates if some duplicates have been identified with a tooltip message displaying the names of the duplicates.
You can also choose to merge a contact or a company with another existing contact or company, even if they're not suggested as duplicates.
Merge Companies or Contacts
Open Object A and click the Merge button at the top right of the page.
A two-step popup will open. In step 1/2, select the name of Object B.
In step 2/2, confirm the merge. Be careful, merging two companies or contacts can't be undone. Some merged information about Object A will be lost after the merge.
Here are the rules applying to company and contact fields after the merge of Object A into Object B.
|Field||Information kept from Object A or B after the merge|
|Opportunities, Contacts, Meetings, Attachments||Object A + B|
|First, last name & salutations||Object B|
|Job title (Work as)||
Object B (if same company)
Object A + B if different companies
|Company (From)||Object A + B if different companies|
|Email address and phone number||Object A + B|
|Meetings & Opportunities||Object A + B|
|Notes||Object A + B|
Following the merge, the companies and contacts' activity streams are updated with all new information added: opportunities, meetings, contacts, etc.